Culture Change is not a Battle

Welcome to my first post on the politics of culture change! My goal with this blog is to discuss current political and social issues, particularly the dynamics of culture change, in layman’s language because so much has been said in recent years in current politics about “culture wars” that are fought through legisltaive changes at the local, state and national level. My take-off point is from a foundation of anthropological concepts. I know, sounds boring at first, but believe me, it becomes mind blowing to realize what really changes our American culture in ways that even many politicians don’t understand. Anthropology is nothing scary, and if you take a moment to give it a good toe-dip, you may discover that the topics are all about what you’ve been wondering yourself and thinking about yourself for years-but from a very different point of view than Americans generally are accustomed to considering things. I would hope that many of the discussions lead to a spontaneous forehead smack and a light bulb moment, “So that’s why that happens this way!”

Let me introduce myself. I’m a person who is intensely interested in all things social and political, which is really the same thing, hence the combined word, “sociopolitical” that you may come upon from time to time. I hold a Bachelor’s Degree in cultural anthropology, studied legal communications after that, and have become a nationally certified paralegal more recently. I’m blogging from the Central Plains state of Nebraska having moved here from Wyoming where I was born and raised, and lived off and on until age 28. I have lived in Colorado and California (San Diego and San Jose) since then. My interests are, first, art, music, and literature; and equally passionately, politics and the intricacies of social dynamics.  I have been curious about how we got to be here and to be the group of people we are and so I askedHow did we get these societies that we live in? Who caused us to live the way we do? Why do we practice the daily rituals and regimens we have created, and why does it seem to be so hard to get things done in society? Why is it so hard for the individual to go up against socieity or social dictates? I love these questions. I have read about them, thought about them for many years, and wrote about them in depth as well. No, I am not an expert, no Ph.D in anthropology, but I do have a better than layman’s understanding of these things, which I hope is enough to spark some discussion, make people think, and maybe inspire them to learn more on their own, but most of all, to view politics and social issues from what I believe is a fresh and revealing way of thinking that simply is rare and unfamiliar to most people.

This blog is not a place for comments that are intended to be rude, to show someone up, to put someone in their place, or to be obscene, profane, or to make comments that are careless and hurtful. All of that will be disposed of. This is a place to consider concepts from a diferrent perspective, create some social insight, and prompt people to think again about some ideas that have been around for a long time.

The fact is–the potential to cause real culture change comes from each of us at any time and anywhere.  I use the word “potential” deliberately because approximately 95% of the ideas/behaviors that bring about true culture change fail. You can test this for yourself. Try to think of an original slogan or saying that you would like to become the next national fad, such as “Whazzupppp?” was some years ago, or “At the end of the day…” has been more currently. Start to use your new slogan with your friends and family and get them to start saying it. See if you can get it to spread throughout the neighbhorhood so that it is used fairly frequently. See if it catches on from there. Notice the reaction you get when you suggest it. Is it working? Is there resistance? Why or why not? Does it spread or does it die at your doorstep? This is where I will leave the topic for now. When I return, I will get into why culture is not a battle. Before I go, think about how this works for political issues, say immigration. Who do you think caused it to become an issue, considering that a new idea almost never is spoken spontaneously and simultaneously by two persons? Was the authorities who first thought of it as an issue? If so, where? Was it the business people living in border states, or was it the residents of other places? See you soon…

Thank you so much for your time here and I will be back soon…

True culture change is not a top down, overnight process if only we could get our candidates into office. True culture change does not take days or months, and usually not even a few years. It can take a generation or two to be achieved. It most often happens without being aware of it. It is slow, it is almost always imperceptible, and it becomes a part of our subconscious when it has is complete, and then it changes again. Anything less is a passing trend, a momentary fad, or a “flavor of the month.”

Leave a Reply

